Seduced in the Dark (The Dark Duet Book #2) by CJ Roberts

Book description via Amazon:

What is the price of redemption?

Rescued from sexual slavery by a mysterious Pakistani officer, Caleb carries the weight of a debt that must be paid in blood.

The road has been long and fraught with uncertainty, but for Caleb and Livvie, it’s all coming to an end.

Can he surrender the woman he loves for the sake of vengeance?

Or will he make the ultimate sacrifice?

OH. MY. GHANDIJESUSBUDDHA. I can’t even… GAAAAHHHH!

Just when I thought this sequel would probably not measure up to the first book… it went above and beyond mindf*cking me. I LOVED IT. I loved Olivia…. I LOVED CALEB. WHAT?!

The story is told out of chronological order. We go back and forth between Olivia’s days with Caleb, being prepared to be sold and the days after a turn of events as said plans don’t exactly work out. We are also introduced to a few new characters that are somewhat significant but do not take away from Olivia’s and Caleb’s story at all. It’s told mostly from Olivia’s POV, alternating with some of Caleb’s, and a new character, Matthew Reed.

In this book, Caleb discovers the truth about his past, which changes everything he has ever known. It’s heartbreaking. I wanted to reach into my kindle and give this guy a hump hug. The story also dives deeply into Olivia’s thoughts. It was like I was right there with her, falling for Caleb. I couldn’t help but root for them to be together. UGH, I know it’s sick. It’s some kind of secondary Stockholm’s syndrome… and I have it and I AM NOT ASHAMED!!

Yes, this is a very dark and erotic book but it also has a sweet side to it, along with a little mystery and suspense. It really has a bit of everything, which makes this one hell of a read. Even when I wasn’t reading it, I was still thinking about it. And I’m 100% sure this will be one of those stories I will be thinking about days, even weeks from now.

All of the questions and concerns I had in the first book were pretty much answered and explained in this one. The plot twists were crazy amazing and the suspense factor was far from lacking; much more than just dark erotica. Friggen CJ Roberts. YOU ARE AN AMAZING AUTHOR. You’re writing style blows my freaking mind. I’m crossing my fingers for a follow-up excerpt, short story, 3rd book in the series, a book about Matthew Reed perhaps? ANYTHING! I want more!!!

Categories: Book Reviews, Favorites | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Seduced in the Dark (The Dark Duet Book #2) by CJ Roberts

  1. I just finished reading the series last night ~sigh~ I am having a hard time getting these books out of my head (although it will prob take weeks) and have a serious book hangover today! I need MORE!

Leave a Reply

