Captive in the Dark (The Dark Duet, Book 1) by CJ Roberts

Book description via Amazon:

BOOK ONE OF THE DARK DUET:

Caleb is a man with a singular interest in revenge. Kidnapped as a young boy and sold into slavery by a power-hungry mobster, he has thought of nothing but vengeance. For twelve years he has immersed himself in the world of pleasure slaves searching for the one man he holds ultimately responsible. Finally, the architect of his suffering has emerged with a new identity, but not a new nature. If Caleb is to get close enough to strike, he must become the very thing he abhors and kidnap a beautiful girl to train her to be all that he once was.

Eighteen-year-old Olivia Ruiz has just woken up in a strange place. Blindfolded and bound, there is only a calm male voice to welcome her. His name is Caleb, though he demands to be called Master. Olivia is young, beautiful, naïve and willful to a fault. She has a dark sensuality that cannot be hidden or denied, though she tries to accomplish both. Although she is frightened by the strong, sadistic, and arrogant man who holds her prisoner, what keeps Olivia awake in the dark is her unwelcome attraction to him.

WARNING: This book contains very disturbing situations, dubious consent, strong language, and graphic violence.

WOW. WTF did I just read? Who the f*** am I? The best way I can describe this book is that it’s one hell of a mind-f*ck. And I… loved it. First off, everyone needs to take the warning seriously. I was going back and forth on buying this ebook because it just didn’t sound like something I would be into and honestly, I try to avoid having to dish out bad reviews. I read a lot of the 5, 3, and 1 starred reviews on amazon, I went through several book blog reviews for it, and the only conclusion I came up with was that I was just too damn curious to let it go.

Caleb kidnaps Olivia to turn her into a sex slave and sell her to a man he needs to exact revenge upon. He plans to use her as a means to get to that man. When things are set into motion, Olivia, with no one really looking for her, realizes that their are far worse men than Caleb and is torn between being grateful for this and hating him. I hated Caleb… or at least I wanted to at first but he was trying to teach her to be strong; to survive, and I was so intrigued by the soft spot that he started growing for her. GAH!

This a very dark read and has several disturbing scenarios. Sometimes I was horrified, but through it all I was intrigued. I should have been disgusted, but I needed to know what was going to happen to Olivia; if Caleb would change his mind; if these two broken souls would somehow find a way to fix each other.

If you’re on the fence about this book at all, just give it a try. Stop reading if you can’t take it. I’m glad I decided to give this a go. It isn’t my usual cup of tea but it’s different and it pushed me out of my comfort zone. I am definitely getting the 2nd book because I am just in too deep with Caleb and Olivia.

Categories: Book Reviews | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Captive in the Dark (The Dark Duet, Book 1) by CJ Roberts

  1. Liz

    I have this on my Kindle – have had it for several weeks but haven’t had the guts to start reading it! Your review is giving me the courage to give it a try!

Leave a Reply

