Losing It by Cora Carmack

Book description via Amazon:

Virginity.

Bliss Edwards is about to graduate from college and still has hers. Sick of being the only virgin among her friends, she decides the best way to deal with the problem is to lose it as quickly and simply as possible– a one-night stand. But her plan turns out to be anything but simple when she freaks out and leaves a gorgeous guy alone and naked in her bed with an excuse that no one with half-a-brain would ever believe. And as if if that weren’t embarrassing enough, when she arrives for her first class of her last college semester, she recognizes her new theatre professor. She’d left him naked in her bed about 8 hours earlier.

So Bliss is about to graduate college but she’s still a virgin so she and her best friend, Kelsey, devise a plan to finally get rid of it already. The plan works and she comes across super hot British guy, Garrick, whom she actually takes home… but despite the chemistry, she can’t get herself to go all the way. The next day is the first day of the semester and her professor just so happens to be the hot British guy she booted but had not tooted from the night before.

I was waiting for this book to come out for forever! Totally fell in love with the cover and the summary. It reminded me of a toned down version of the Gabriel’s Inferno series.

I loved Bliss. She was quirky and random and made me laugh out loud several times with her antics. And I loved the dynamics between her and her friends. I was thrown a wrench when her best friend, Cade professed his love for her because after that I had no idea what to expect at all and in what direction things were going in. I’m always amazed when an author can avoid being predictable, especially when all my thoughts and theories are wrong.

I sort of had a hard time connecting with the characters at first. I’m not sure when Bliss and Garrick started falling for each other. There was a point in the story when they took care of each other through a sickness, resulting in them spending a lot of time together but before that point I didn’t feel a deep connection between them. After they both recovered from the sickness though, I was able to get past that small disconnection and get pulled back into the story. I really liked the flip on POV’s in the epilogue too.

This was a light, very sweet read. I appreciate the break from damaged characters and over-the-top drama and intimacy. The drama and angst was kept to a minimum, which makes this the perfect book to read when you’re in between books or having a hard time recovering from a crazy dramatic angst-filled story line. I am definitely crossing my fingers for a sequel and hoping for more of Garrick’s POV as well!

 

Categories: Book Reviews | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Losing It by Cora Carmack

  1. I love your blog!!! I’m starting this book tonight and I can’t wait!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

