Avoiding Commitment by K.A. Linde

Book description (via Amazon):

Jack and Lexi never had a typical relationship. After 2 years without speaking, she receives a phone call that changes everything. He unexpectedly asks her to convince the new girl, Bekah, that he’s ready to commit. Jack is calling now after everything they had been through because there is another woman. She can’t believe it. Follow Lexi in this heart wrenching drama as she relives her past relationship, or lack thereof, with Jack, and not just in her own mind, but to his fiance-to-be. Throw in Bekah’s hot brother who always seems to be in the right place at the right time, a past with more secrets to unravel than you can even imagine, and you get a recipe for disaster. Find out what happens to Lexi as she travels to Atlanta to get the closure she so desperately desires from Jack, and how the bumps of life seem to keep getting in the way.

Jack calls Lexi out of nowhere and wants her to meet his current girlfriend. Of course, she has always and forever been under his spell so she agrees, with hopes of closure, yet at the same time, with hopes that it could lead to something more. She meets Jack’s girlfriend Bekah and Bekah’s hot brother, Ramsey, who somewhat distracts Lexi from her feelings for Jack. Each chapter alternates between the present and the past, which worked really well for me because it takes us through how Jack’s and Lexi’s crazy tumultuous relationship started and how they keep finding each other, while at the same time, we see how they still have a strong connection in the present day.

The problem that keeps coming between them whenever they run into each other is that they are never single at the same time. But even when they’re with other people, the pull between them never seems to dissipate. I hated Jack because he was an ass a lot of the time but at the same time I rooted for him because that’s who Lexi always wanted (and dammit, I just want her to be happy! *ugly cries*). But then Ramsey is thrown into the mix and I’m torn between the 2!

K.A. Linde kept me on edge practically the whole time. There were a few times where I had to stop reading and take a breather because there are a lot of intense moments; my emotions were all over the place. I was angry, sad, anxious… the whole shebang. When I wasn’t reading it, I was thinking about it. And now that I’m done with it, I’m ready to read it again (I finished it about a month ago, and I just started it up again today). It is THAT serious. I CANNOT friggen wait for the 2nd book, Avoiding Responsibility.

Categories: Book Reviews, Favorites | Tags: , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Avoiding Commitment by K.A. Linde

  1. Pingback: In My Mind Monday – Avoiding Commitment edition « I AM A BOOKAHOLIC

  2. Heather Lueschen

    You nailed it on the head! This book toyed with my emotions. I went back and forth between yelling at Lexi to run from Jack and crying because they couldn’t make it work.

    • So glad I wasn’t the only one torn between Jack and Ramsey! I’m still Team Jack but I wouldn’t mind it if she went for Ramsey

Leave a Reply

