Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire<br />Book description (via Amazon):</p><p>**For mature readers. Contains sexual situations and strong language**The new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate percentage of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance between her and the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend America, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs—and wants—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the charming college co-ed. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his charms, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’ apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.</p><p>I loved this book. The author did a great job of developing the characters, the main character, Abby, was fairly easy to relate to. Though the characters were in a college setting, it seemed as if they were in high school at times. It was very reminiscent of my attitude back in high school and the drama I endured back in my day.<br />It’s your typical good girl meets bad boy but with a twist because later on we learn that the good girl may not have always been good. The relationship between Abby and Travis is volatile and bordering on obsession yet at the same time it depicts an all-consuming type of love.<br />As an adult, I am very aware that this book is a very bad example of what a relationship should be like. Travis has anger issues and acts on impulse; almost always solving problems with violence. But being that I was a teenager before and have had my fair share of volatile, all-consuming relationships, I could definitely relate to the type of love they had for each other, which is what pulled me in and kept me reading the story.<br />I almost hate that this book was so good because I haven’t found another story like this one that can pull me in so strongly =P

Book description (via Amazon):

**For mature readers. Contains sexual situations and strong language**

The new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate percentage of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance between her and the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend America, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.

Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs—and wants—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the charming college co-ed. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his charms, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’ apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.

I loved this book. The author did a great job of developing the characters, the main character, Abby, was fairly easy to relate to. Though the characters were in a college setting, it seemed as if they were in high school at times. It was very reminiscent of my attitude back in high school and the drama I endured back in my day.

It’s your somewhat typical good girl meets bad boy but with a twist because later on we learn that the good girl may not have always been good. The relationship between Abby and Travis is volatile and bordering on obsession yet at the same time it depicts an all-consuming type of love.

As an adult, I am very aware that this book is a very bad example of what a relationship should be like. Travis has anger issues and acts on impulse; almost always solving problems with violence. But being that I was a teenager before and have had my fair share of volatile, all-consuming relationships, I could definitely relate to the type of love they had for each other, which is what pulled me in and kept me reading the story.

I almost hate that this book was so good because I haven’t found another story like this one that can pull me in so strongly =P

Categories: Book Reviews, Favorites | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

